Home » Professors / Artists   » Violoncelle
Damien Ventula, professeur de violoncelle

Damien Ventula

Violoncelliste
Noted for his temperament and sensitivity, Damien Ventula was "Adami's Classic Revelation" in 2003, named to the "Victoires de la Musique" in the Instrumental Soloist Revelation category in 2005 and "Generation Spedidam 2010".
A native of Toulouse (France), born in a family of musicians, Damien Ventula works the cello at a young age with great masters: Lluís Claret in his hometown, Bernard Greenhouse and Laurence Lesser in Boston.
Invited to numerous festivals, he has participated in the Festival Pablo Casals de Prades, Solent Music Festival, Piano Pic Festival, La Chaise-Dieu Festival, Comminges Festival, Bad Homburg Festival, The Holland Music Sessions, Bacau Festival . Damien Ventula is also a laureate of several foundations (Marcel Bleustein-Blanchet, Piatigorsky, Singer-Polignac) and has performed as a soloist in France with the National Chamber Orchestra of Toulouse and abroad with the Mannheim Kammerorchester , The Philharmonie de Gotha Thüringen and the Berliner Symphoniker among others.
In chamber music, Damien Ventula was for four years a founding member of the Cuarteto Arriaga - a quartet that performed especially at the Wigmore Hall in London, in the Royal Palace of Madrid, at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig, at Musika Musica, Quincena Musical San Sebastian, and the Lockenhaus Festival. He plays regularly with pianist Sam Haywood, and has appeared alongside other renowned artists such as Christian Zacharias, Raphael Oleg, Olivier Charlier, Denis Pascal, Thérèse Dussaut, Hartmut Rohde, Barbara Hendricks, Vladimir Mendelssohn, the Talich Quartet, Jean Mouillère, Michel Lethiec, and Wolfgang Güttler.
A sincere and passionate interpreter, Damien Ventula loves to share the enthusiasm and emotions he experiences with his cello with other musicians, the audience and his students. He teaches at the Conservatoire de Versailles and is regularly invited to masterclasses in the USA, Japan, Canada, Indonesia and Germany, where he has since 2013 a class at the prestigious Hochschule Hanns Eisler in Berlin.
He has recorded several discs, alone or in chamber music, including "Arc en cello" (edited by "The Transfigured Night", distributed by Intégrales), a record devoted to contemporary Toulouse composers, and a record released in April 2016 Dedicated to the integral of the music for piano and violoncello by Gabriel Fauré with Nicolas Bringuier ("Klarthe" edited by Harmonia Mundi).

Accueil » Professeurs   » Violoncelle
Damien Ventula, professeur de violoncelle

Damien Ventula

Remarqué pour son tempérament et sa sensibilité, Damien Ventula a été « Révélation Classique de l’Adami » en 2003, nommé aux « Victoires de la Musique » dans la catégorie Révélation Soliste Instrumental en 2005 et « Génération Spedidam 2010 ».
Toulousain d’origine, né dans une famille de musiciens, Damien Ventula travaille le violoncelle dès son plus jeune âge avec de grands maîtres : Lluís Claret dans sa ville natale, Bernard Greenhouse et Laurence Lesser à Boston.
Invité à de nombreux festivals, il a notamment participé aux Festival Pablo Casals de Prades, Solent Music Festival, Festival Piano Pic, Festival de La Chaise-Dieu, Festival du Comminges, Festival de Bad-Homburg, The Holland Music Sessions, Festival de Bacau. Damien Ventula est également le lauréat de plusieurs fondations (Marcel Bleustein-Blanchet, Piatigorsky, Singer-Polignac) et s’est produit en soliste en France avec l’Orchestre de Chambre National de Toulouse ainsi qu’à l’étranger avec le Mannheim Kammerorchester, la Philharmonie de Gotha Thüringen et le Berliner Symphoniker entre autre.
En musique de chambre, Damien Ventula a été pendant quatre ans membre fondateur du Cuarteto Arriaga – quatuor qui s’est produit en particulier au Wigmore Hall de Londres, dans le Palais Royal de Madrid, au Gewandhaus de Leipzig, à Musika Musica, Quincena Musical de San Sebastian, ainsi qu’au Festival de Lockenhaus. Il joue de plus régulièrement avec le pianiste Sam Haywood, et a paru au côté d’autres artistes renommés comme Christian Zacharias, Raphaël Oleg, Olivier Charlier, Denis Pascal, Thérèse Dussaut, Hartmut Rohde, Barbara Hendricks, Vladimir Mendelssohn, le Quatuor Talich, Jean Mouillère, Michel Lethiec, ou encore Wolfgang Güttler.
Interprète sincère et passionné, Damien Ventula aime avant tout partager les enthousiasmes et les émotions qu’il vit avec son violoncelle avec d’autres musiciens, le public, mais aussi ses élèves. Il enseigne au Conservatoire de Versailles et est régulièrement invité pour des masterclasses aux Etats-Unis, au Japon, au Canada, en Indonésie, et en Allemagne, où il a depuis 2013 une classe à la prestigieuse Hochschule Hanns Eisler de Berlin.
Il a enfin enregistré plusieurs disques, seul ou en musique de chambre, notamment "Arc en cello" (éd. « la Nuit Transfigurée » distribué par Intégrales), disque consacré à des compositeurs toulousains contemporains, ainsi qu'un disque sorti en avril 2016 consacré à l’intégrale de la musique pour piano et violoncelle de Gabriel Fauré avec Nicolas Bringuier (éd. « Klarthe » distribué par Harmonia Mundi).